Competition-based prizes and awards are open to current Queensland Conservatorium students

With music industry connections around the globe, Queensland Conservatorium gives you the opportunity to apply your talents at a truly professional level.

The Conservatorium offers pre-tertiary, undergraduate, postgraduate and research programs at its South Bank and Gold Coast campuses. Students learn under leading music educators, musicians and composers with international experience and outlook.

There are a range of competitions held throughout the academic year at the Queensland Conservatorium. Most are made possible through the support of our external sponsors.

QCGU Key Dates 2020 - Competitions and Prizes

Queensland Conservatorium Competitions

Competition Name Instrument Closing Date Competition Date Participate

Unfortunately there are no competitions available.

Beta Sigma Phi Brass Prize

Brass

4:00pm Friday 24 April 2020

6:30pm Thursday 30 April 2020

Find out more

Rudolph Pekarek Oboe Prize

Oboe

TBC

TBC

Find out more

Ena Williams Award for Postgraduate Study Overseas

Piano

4:00pm Friday 3 May 2020

6:30pm Monday 11 May 2020

Find out more

Hilda Woolmer Prize for Piano Accompaniment

Piano and Voice

4:00pm Friday 24 July 2020

6:30pm Thursday 30 July 2020

Find out more

Minnie May Bussey Prize (Pianoforte)

Piano

4:00pm Friday 21 August 2020

6:30pm Thursday 27 August 2020

Find out more

Ruby C Cooling Prize

Piano

4:00pm Tuesday 6 October 2020

6:30pm Tuesday 13 October 2020

Find out more

Basil Jones Sonata Prize

Strings (male)

4:00pm Friday 4 September 2020

Preliminary round- Monday 14 September 2020, Final- Tuesday 22 September 2020

Find out more

John Curro Viola Prize

Viola

TBC

TBC

Find out more

John and Sue Thompson Vocal and Accompaniment Scholarship

Piano

4:00pm Tuesday 14 April 2020

6:30pm Tuesday 21 April 2020

Find out more

Matilda Jane Aplin Prize

Strings

4:00pm Friday 7 August 2020

6:30pm Tuesday 18 August 2020

Find out more

Paganini Prize

Strings

4:00pm Friday 3 August 2020

4:00pm Monday 10 August 2020

Find out more

Piatti Prize

Strings

4:00pm Friday 3 August 2020

4:00pm Tuesday 6 October 2020

Find out more

Queensland Conservatorium Guitar Prize

Guitar

4:00pm Friday 25 September 2020

6:30pm Tuesday 6 October 2020

Find out more

Ronald Clifford Davis Violin Prize

Strings

4:00pm Friday 9 August 2020

6:30pm Monday 17 August 2020

Find out more

Una Morgan Harp Prize

Strings

TBC

TBC

Find out more

Vada Jefferies Prize

Strings

4:00pm Friday 17 May 2020

Preliminary round- Tuesday 19 May 2020, Final- Monday 25 May 2020

Find out more

Elizabeth Muir Memorial Prize (Singing) Postgraduate

Vocal

4:00pm Friday 17 April 2020

6:30pm Monday 23 April 2020

Find out more

Linda Edith Allen Award (Singing) Postgraduate

Vocal

4:00pm Friday 25 September 2020

10:00am Friday 9 October 2020

Find out more

Margaret Nickson Prizes for Voice and Accompaniment

Piano and Vocal

4:00pm Friday 4 September 2020

6:30pm Tuesday 15 September 2020

Find out more

Musical Theatre Audition Award

Performing Arts

4:00pm Friday 31 July 2020

Shortlisted applicants will be assessed during WICKED and the Annual End of Year Showcase.

Find out more

The Brisbane Club Award and the Jim Massie Memorial Prize

Combinations

Not applicable.

6:30pm Monday 19 October 2020

Find out more

Joyce Campbell Lloyd Scholarship (Overseas Study) Vocal Students

Combinations

4:00pm Friday 30 July 2020

6:30pm Sunday 16 August 2020

Find out more

Owen Fletcher Postgraduate Award

Combinations

4:00pm Friday 25 September 2020

10:00am Friday 9 October 2020

Find out more

Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University Postgraduate Award

Combinations

4:00pm Friday 25 September 2020

10:00am Friday 9 October 2020

Find out more

Ross Peters 4MBS Chamber Music Prize

Combinations

TBC

TBC

Find out more

QCGU International Travel Bursary- Orchestral Strings

Strings

4:00pm Friday 25 September 2020

Not applicable.

Find out more