Competition-based prizes and awards are open to current Queensland Conservatorium students

With music industry connections around the globe, Queensland Conservatorium gives you the opportunity to apply your talents at a truly professional level.

The Conservatorium offers pre-tertiary, undergraduate, postgraduate and research programs at its South Bank and Gold Coast campuses. Students learn under leading music educators, musicians and composers with international experience and outlook.

There are a range of competitions held throughout the academic year at the Queensland Conservatorium. Most are made possible through the support of our external sponsors.

Queensland Conservatorium Competitions

Competition Name Instrument Closing Date Competition Date Participate

Unfortunately there are no competitions available.

Beta Sigma Phi Brass Prize

Brass

4 pm Friday 28 August 2020

6 pm Friday 4 September 2020

Find out more

Rudolph Pekarek Oboe Prize

Oboe

TBC

TBC

Find out more

Ena Williams Award for Postgraduate Study Overseas

Piano

4 pm Friday 28 August 2020

6:30 pm Monday 7 September 2020

Find out more

Hilda Woolmer Prize for Piano Accompaniment

Piano and Voice

4 pm Friday 4 September 2020

6:30 pm Monday 21 September 2020

Find out more

Minnie May Bussey Prize (Pianoforte)

Piano

4 pm Friday 21 August 2020

6:30 pm Thursday 27 August 2020

Find out more

Ruby C Cooling Prize

Piano

4 pm Tuesday 6 October 2020

6:30 pm Tuesday 13 October 2020

Find out more

Basil Jones Sonata Prize

Strings (male)

4 pm Friday 4 September 2020

Preliminary round- Monday 14 September 2020, Final- Tuesday 22 September 2020

Find out more

John Curro Viola Prize

Viola

TBC

TBC

Find out more

John and Sue Thompson Vocal and Accompaniment Scholarship

Piano

Rescheduled to 2021.

TBC in April 2021

Find out more

Matilda Jane Aplin Prize

Strings

4 pm Friday 7 August 2020

6:30 pm Tuesday 18 August 2020

Find out more

Paganini Prize

Strings

4 pm Friday 14 August 2020

4 pm Monday 24 August 2020

Find out more

Piatti Prize

Strings

4 pm Friday 14 August 2020

4 pm Monday 24 August 2020

Find out more

Queensland Conservatorium Guitar Prize

Guitar

4 pm Friday 25 September 2020

6:30 pm Tuesday 6 October 2020

Find out more

Ronald Clifford Davis Violin Prize

Strings

4 pm Friday 9 August 2020

6:30 pm Monday 17 August 2020

Find out more

Una Morgan Harp Prize

Strings

TBC

TBC

Find out more

Vada Jefferies Prize

Strings

Closed

Closed

Find out more

Elizabeth Muir Memorial Prize (Singing) Postgraduate

Vocal

4 pm Thursday 13 August 2020

4:30 pm Wednsday 19 August 2020

Find out more

Linda Edith Allen Award (Singing) Postgraduate

Vocal

4 pm Friday 25 September 2020

10 am Friday 9 October 2020

Find out more

Margaret Nickson Prizes for Voice and Accompaniment

Piano and Vocal

4 pm Friday 4 September 2020

6:30 pm Tuesday 15 September 2020

Find out more

Musical Theatre Audition Award

Performing Arts

4 pm Friday 31 July 2020

For 2020, Shortlisted applicants will be assessed for their performance and professionalism within the annual Revue performance (‘Elegies’ March 2020) and the annual end of year showcase.

Find out more

The Brisbane Club Award and the Jim Massie Memorial Prize

Combinations

Not applicable.

6:30 pm Monday 19 October 2020

Find out more

Joyce Campbell Lloyd Scholarship (Overseas Study) Vocal Students

Combinations

4 pm Friday 4 September 2020

3 pm Sunday 20 September 2020

Find out more

Owen Fletcher Postgraduate Award

Combinations

4 pm Friday 25 September 2020

10 am Friday 9 October 2020

Find out more

Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University Postgraduate Award

Combinations

4 pm Friday 25 September 2020

10 am Friday 9 October 2020

Find out more

Ross Peters 4MBS Chamber Music Prize

Combinations

TBC

TBC

Find out more

QCGU International Travel Bursary- Orchestral Strings

Strings

4 pm Friday 25 September 2020

Not applicable.

Find out more