Our vision is to be one of the most influential universities in Australia and the Asia–Pacific region

The Chancellor is backed by the Executive Group, which comprises our Vice Chancellor, Deputy Vice Chancellors and Pro Vice Chancellors. The University's structure is depicted in the Organisational Chart (PDF).


The Chancellor serves as the titular head of the University, presiding over all major ceremonies. Mr Henry Smerdon is the Chancellor of Griffith University and became Chancellor in 2015 after serving as Deputy Chancellor from 2000-2015.


The Vice Chancellor and President is the Chief Executive Officer of the University and is responsible to the Council of the University. The University's Executive Group comprises the Vice Chancellor, Deputy Vice Chancellors and Pro Vice Chancellors. It meets on a fortnightly basis to deal with current strategic and management matters.

Incoming Vice Chancellor and President
Professor Carolyn Evans
Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic)
Professor Debra Henly
Vice President (Corporate Services)
Mr Peter Bryant
Pro Vice Chancellor (Business)
Professor David Grant
Pro Vice Chancellor 
Ms Linda O'Brien
Senior Deputy Vice Chancellor
Professor Ned Pankhurst
Deputy Vice Chancellor (Engagement)
Professor Martin Betts
Vice President (Global)
Professor Sarah Todd
Pro Vice Chancellor (Arts, Education and Law)
Professor Paul Mazerolle
Pro Vice Chancellor (Health)
Professor Sheena Reilly
Pro Vice Chancellor (Sciences)
Professor Andrew T Smith

Our campuses

Spanning three cities in South East Queensland, our campuses are a thriving network of learning and innovation. Each location has a wide range of modern spaces to suit every study need as well as facilities and services to help make university life easier and enjoyable.

Head of campus

Teaching and learning

Our innovative teaching methods and learning experiences set us apart