Leading work to ensure Griffith campuses are safe for students and staff

The Safe Campuses Taskforce was convened by the Vice Chancellor in August 2017.  Chaired by Professor Paul Mazerolle, Pro Vice Chancellor of the Arts, Education and Law Group and Director of the Violence Research and Prevention Program, Griffith University. The Taskforce and it's working parties are working hard to ensure the University meets the requirements of the Change the Course and Universities Australia recommendations, and ultimately, to ensure that our campuses provide safe, inclusive and respectful environments for our students and staff.

Change the Course

In 2017 and at the request of Australia’s 39 universities, the Australian Human Rights Commission (AHRC) conducted a national, independent survey of university students to gain greater insight into the nature, prevalence and reporting of sexual assault and sexual harassment at Australian universities.

In August 2017, the AHRC released the results of the survey together with 9 recommendations for Australian universities though the Change the Course report. The wide ranging report, commissioned by Universities Australia (UA) on behalf of universities, has made a total of nine recommendations – eight pertaining to universities and one to on-site residential colleges. Griffith University has committed to implementing the report’s recommendations in full.

In response, Universities Australia also released a 10-point action plan which includes a series of further sector-wide prevention, awareness and support initiatives that Australian universities can draw on to complement the many local initiatives they have underway to prevent and address sexual assault and sexual harassment in student communities.

Reviewing our progress

The University, through the Vice Chancellor, provides periodical updates to both the University Council and the Australian Human Rights Commission which outline both our progress towards each of the recommendations and planned future actions to ensure we can achieve real change.


To view the AHRC report in full.

For details on Griffith University’s survey results.

Universities Australia 10-point action plan.

View our latest progress update - August 2018.

Taskforce Membership

Taskforce membership comprises staff and student representation as well as relevant external partners.

Staff Representation
Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic) – Safe Campuses initiative portfolio lead Professor Debra Henly
Pro Vice Chancellor (Arts, Education and Law) and Chair Professor Paul Mazerolle
Pro Vice Chancellor Linda O’Brien
Director, GUMURRII Student Support Unit Cheryl Godwell-Pepper
Director, Campus Life Nicola Collier-Jackson
Academic Registrar Kathy Grgic
Director, Office of Marketing and Communications Phillip Stork
Senior Consultant, Equity and Inclusion, Human Resources Marnie King
Counsellor, Violence Prevention and Response, Student Services Lauren Howlett
Director, Students Services Dr Joanna Peters
Director, International, Griffith International Heidi Piper
Director, Griffith Graduate Research School Dr Sharon Saunders
Student Representation
Brisbane student representative - Student Representative Council, Nathan Liam Baker
Gold Coast postgraduate student representative TBA
Brisbane/Logan undergraduate student representative - President, Student Representative Council (Nathan) Melissa Bansraj
Gold Coast undergraduate student representative - Student Guild President Jordan Jansen
Brisbane/Logan postgraduate student representative TBA
General Manager, Gold Coast Griffith University Student Guild Jessica Brown
Union Representation
NTEU Nominee Zoe Rathus AM
Together Union nominee vacant
External Partners
Director and Principal, Griffith College Leigh Pointon
Gold Coast Manager, Campus Living Villages Maree Wilson
Safe Campuses Project Officer Megan Sharp

Contact us

For further information contact us