A multidisciplinary team, with researchers from diverse academic backgrounds

Through collaboration, the Centre for Governance and Public Policy strives for innovation, producing relevant and timely research with a tangible outcome on governance and public policy discourse. Read more about our members and their research interests in their member profiles.


Professor Kai He specialises in international relations theory and international security; foreign policy analysis and international political economy; public opinion; foreign policy crisis behaviour; Chinese politics and Sino-US relations. He is a recent co-recipient of an ARC Discovery investigating Decoding Revisionist Challenges to the international Institutional Order.

Deputy Director

Professor Juliet Pietsch is a leading scholar in the specialist fields of migration politics and political behaviour in Australia and Southeast Asia. She has published more than 60 research publications, including six single-authored and co-authored books and edited collections. Juliet has also played a lead investigator role on six ARC grants - collectively worth more than $1.6 million - that involve the development of research data infrastructure for the study of migration and political behaviours.


Associate Professor Gideon Baker

Political theory, history of political thought, democratic theory and ethics in international relations.

Professor AJ Brown

Government accountability and responsiveness. federalism, regionalism and public integrity systems.

Associate Professor Luis Cabrera

International ethics, and justice and normative political theory.

Professor Sara Davies

Women’s participation in peace process, sexual and gender based violence, women’s displacement, gender and global health

Dr Outi Donovan

Peacebuilding in conflict-affected societies, gender and conflict, humanitarian interventions, international norms

Dr Hui Feng

International political economy, post-communist transitions, international finance and Chinese politics.

Dr Huiyun Feng

Foreign policy analysis, Asia security studies and Chinese politics, female leadership

Dr Max Grömping

Interest representation, political participation, authoritarianism, media politics

Dr Cosmo Howard

Comparative public administration, bureaucratic politics, public policy processes and neoliberal governance.

Adjunct Professor John Kane

Political theory, democratic studies, moral philosophy and political leadership.

Dr Jessica Kirk

Global health, disease outbreak responses, critical security studies, US politics, and the politics of emergency

Dr Ferran Martinez i Coma

Electoral integrity, comparative politics, political parties and electoral behaviour.

Dr Ellie Martus

Public policy, Russian politics, Environmental politics and policy, Industry and climate politics

Professor Duncan McDonnell

Political Parties, populism, Euroscepticism and youth wings.

Dr Lee Morgenbesser

South East Asian politics, authoritarian regimes and democratisation.

Professor Ciaran O’Faircheallaigh

Resource development and indigenous peoples, policy evaluation, negotiation and social impact assessment.

Professor Andrew O’Neill

International relations Asia–Pacific; strategic studies; Australian foreign and defence policy; and international terrorism and counter terrorism.

Professor Haig Patapan

Democratic theory and practice; political philosophy; political leadership and comparative constitutionalism.

Professor Emeritus John Wanna

Australian/NZ politics, Public policy/policy analysis, Public budgeting

Professor Emeritus Patrick Weller

Executive government; Politics and policy making in central governments in Westminster systems; Australian Politics; and International civil servants.

Prof Xu Yi-chong

Energy security, International organisations, and China and regional studies.

Research candidates

View the list of our talented research candidates

Adjunct members

  • Catherine Althaus
  • Henry Boer
  • Val Cooms
  • Jack Corbett
  • Geoff Edwards
  • Dennis Grube
  • John Kane
  • Jason Sharman

Visiting Industry fellow

Wayne Bergman

Associate members

Diletta Luna Calibeo

Want to know more?

Get in touch with the Centre for Governance and Public Policy