A state-of-the-art reference laboratory focusing on hydrogen storage materials and hydrogen embrittlement

The aim of NHMRF is to support excellent research to advance hydrogen energy technology. Access to authoritative and scarce instruments and techniques for characterising the performance of new and advanced functional materials helps achieve this goal.


NHMRF and its researchers have contributed to exciting projects such as the new $40 million Sir Samuel Griffith Centre at the Nathan campus. This off-grid building is powered by solar energy that is stored in the form of hydrogen, which is used to generate electricity in hydrogen fuel cells when the sun isn't shining. This technology is based on the work of Griffith researcher and NHMRF manager Professor Evan Gray.

Sir Samuel Griffith Centre energy system overview


NHMRF’s principal node lies at the Queensland Micro- and Nanotechnology Centre within Griffith University, with a subsidiary node at Monash University.

Griffith University node

Led by Professor Evan Gray, capabilities at the Griffith University node of NHMRF include:

  • measurement of hydrogen absorption and adsorption at pressures up to 200 megapascal and temperatures from 80 to 800 kelvin
  • thermal desorption spectroscopy of hydrogen storage materials
  • thermal desorption spectroscopy of hydrogen-embrittled alloys at the ppm level
  • accelerated lifetime testing of hydrogen storage materials
  • a high-energy x-ray diffractometer for in-situ x-ray powder diffraction measurements on samples under hydrogen pressures up to 100 megapascal
  • a prototype metal-hydrode storage tank holding 1 kg hydrogen, for testing multiphysics models of hydrogen-storage systems.

Monash University node

Led by Associate Professor Kiyonori Suzuki, capabilities at the Monash University node of NHMRF include:

  • simultaneous measurement of hydrogen desorption and heat flow by differential scanning calorimetry
  • high-pressure DSC to 10 megapascals is also available.


NHMRF currently supports research collaborations with the following organisations:

  • The University of Queensland
  • Curtin University of Technology
  • The Institute for Energy Technology (Norway)
  • Aarhus University
  • Technical University of Berlin.

Proposals for new collaborations are welcome.


The NHMRF is funded by:

  • Australian Research Council
  • Griffith University
  • Monash University
  • The University of Queensland
  • Alstom
  • Curtin University of Technology
  • Queensland University of Technology.

More information

If you would like more details about the Griffith University node of NHMRF, get in touch