Safe Campuses Taskforce


The Australian Human Rights Commission recently released its report (Change the Course) on sexual assault and sexual harassment at Australian Universities. Griffith University is committed to providing safe and inclusive campuses for staff, students and visitors and will be implementing all nine recommendations. The Vice Chancellor has established the Safe Campuses Taskforce, chaired by the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic), to oversee this implementation.

Terms of Reference

The Safe Campuses Taskforce has two terms of reference:

  1. Oversee implementation of recommendations of the Australian Human Rights Commission (AHRC) Change the Course Report on Sexual Assault and Sexual Harassment in Australian Universities.
  2. Provide regular reports to the Vice Chancellor, University Council, and the Griffith community on the University’s progress towards achieving full implementation of AHRC recommendations.


Taskforce membership comprises staff and student representation as well as relevant external partners.

Staff Representation
Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic) – Chair Professor Debra Henly
Pro Vice Chancellor (Arts, Education and Law) Professor Paul Mazerolle
Pro Vice Chancellor Linda O’Brien
Director, GUMURRII Student Support Unit Shane Barnes
Director, Campus Life Nicola Collier-Jackson
Academic Registrar Kathy Grgic
Senior Consultant, Equity and Inclusion, Human Resources Marnie King
Director, Students Services Dr Joanna Peters
Director, International, Griffith International Heidi Piper
Director, Griffith Graduate Research School Dr Sharon Saunders
Student Representation
Brisbane/Logan student representative - Harassment & Discrimination Contact Officer (Student), Student Representative Council, Nathan Tobie Baird
Gold Coast postgraduate student representative - President, Gold Coast Association of Postgraduate Students Pierre Hofstee
Brisbane/Logan undergraduate student representative - Treasurer, Student Representative Council Kate Knapasjo
Gold Coast undergraduate student representative - Student Guild Vice-President Harriet Nash
Brisbane/Logan postgraduate student representative - Women's Officer, Griffith University Postgraduate Student Association Teesta Prakash
General Manager, Gold Coast Griffith University Student Guild Wayne Watt
Union Representation
NTEU Nominee Associate Professor Caryl Bosman
Together Union nominee vacant
External Partners
Director and Principal, Griffith College Leigh Pointon
Gold Coast Manager, Campus Living Villages Melanie Wheatley
Executive Officer to the Deputy Vice chancellor (Academic) Lea-Anne Stafford

Contact Us

For further information contact us