Discipline clusters

There are eight main discipline clusters within ERA. These are:

  • Physical, Chemical and Earth Sciences
  • Humanities and Creative Arts
  • Engineering and Environmental Sciences
  • Education and Human Society
  • Economics and Commerce
  • Mathematical, Information and Computing Sciences
  • Biological and Biotechnological Sciences
  • Medical and Health Sciences.

Each cluster includes a number of broad Fields of Research (2-digit FoR). These two-digit FoR comprise a range of specific fields of research (4-digit FoR). Evaluation is performed at the four-digit FoR level, except when it is below the volume threshold, in that case evaluation might be conducted at the two-digit FoR level.

Fields of research

All two, four and six-digit new Fields of Research codes (ANZSRC 2020) are listed here:

Two and Four-digit Fields of Research

Six-digit Fields of Research

Interdisciplinary research

As ERA is a discipline-specific rating exercise, each research indicator can be assigned up to three four-digit FoR codes.

ERA indicators

For ERA, eligible researchers, income, outputs, applied measures and esteem indicators are all assigned FoR codes.