Improving survivorship and quality of life for prostate cancer patients

By 2020 more than 30,000 Australian men will be diagnosed with prostate cancer each year. The NHMRC Centre for Research Excellence: Prostate Cancer Survivorship undertakes strategic research to better understand and meet the survivorship needs of men with prostate cancer, their partners and families. The Centre uses evidence-based outcomes to improve policy and practice for men with prostate cancer.

About us

In a coordinated and collaborative effort to advance prostate cancer survivorship research, Griffith University and Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia established an Australian-first joint initiative in January 2013, the Prostate Cancer Survivorship Research Centre. In 2016 the Centre became an NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence.

Key focus areas

  • Effective delivery of psychosocial and sexual care in prostate cancer.
  • Integration of tailored exercise medicine into supportive care to improve quality of life and extend survival.
  • Optimisation of clinical pathways for diagnosis and treatment.
  • Equity in outcomes across geographic and socio-demographic boundaries.

Our research

Explore our current research initiatives


Professor Suzanne Chambers

Professor Suzanne Chambers is the Director of the Menzies Health Institute Queensland at Griffith University. She is a registered nurse and psychologist who has worked as a practitioner and researcher in psychological support for people with cancer for over 25 years. Suzanne is an Academic Member of the College of Health Psychology within the Australian Psychological Society.

    Research team and expertise

    • Associate Professor Anthony Lowe
    • Professor Peter Baade
    • Helen Crowe
    • Professor Ian Davis
    • Professor Jeff Dunn
    • Professor Mark Frydenberg
    • Professor Daniel Galvao
    • Professor Frank Gardiner
    • Dr Louisa Gordon
    • Professor Karen Grimmer
    • Dr Melissa Hyde
    • Professor Robert Newton
    • David Sandoe OAM
    • Professor Paul Scuffham
    • Associate Professor David Smith
    • Dr Kevin Stein
    • Clinical Professor Nigel Spry
    • Professor Gary Wittert

    Want to know more?

    Visit our website for more information, or to get in touch