Research in Tourism, Sport and Hotel Management

Our research students form an important part of our community. We take pride in actively supporting emerging scholars and involving them in the activities of the School and partner research centres. HDR students also have access to our academic experts for advice on research methods, conference and workshop presentation skills, and preparing work for publication in scholarly journals.

Scholarships

HDR students can apply for a range of scholarships to cover tuition fees, living allowances, relocation and thesis allowances.

A number of different scholarships may be offered throughout the year, which are funded by Griffith academic areas or external funding bodies.

Considering HDR study?

Contact us to find out more

Higher degree by research students

Affan Ud Din Ahmad

affanuddin.ahmad@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Determinants of Indigenous Engagement in Tourism Success: A Developing Country Perspective

Supervisors

Amal Al Alawi

amal.alalawi@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

The potentials, challenges and strategies for developing Oman as an event tourism destination

Supervisors

Jinyan Chen

jinyan.chen@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Tracking social media to understand chinese tourists travel patterns in Australia

Supervisors

Kanokwan (NiNa) Dhirasasna

n.dhirasasna@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

The perception of climate change among tourism stakeholders in the Gold Coast, Australia

Supervisors

David Fechner

d.fechner@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Cross-cultural analysis of the motivations of people to participate in sport events to raise funds

Supervisors

Ida Kristine Fjelldal

idakristine.fjelldal@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Investigating Australian tourism destinations reputation on social media

Supervisors

Stephen Gardner

stephen.gardner@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Characteristics, attributes and work practices that define successful project managers

Supervisors

Jeffrey Greenhill

jeff.greenhill@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Factors influencing high performance sport and university sector relationships

Supervisors

Dan (Dannie) Huang

d.huang@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

A dedication-constraint based model of innovation resistance in the context of P2P accommodation

Supervisors

Ingo Janowski

i.janowski@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Analysing cross-cultural consumer perceptions of adventure tourism

Supervisors

Sanggyeong (Jess) Je

jesssanggyeong.je@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Women empowerment in 4 to 5 star hotel: How far it is achieved?

Supervisors

Kakda Khun

kakda.khun@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Multi-stakeholders perspectives on green innovation in hotel industry: drivers and challenges

Supervisors

Truc Le

truc.le@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

A study of risks and risk perceptions among young people in Couchsurfing community

Supervisors

Annika Linsner

annika.linsner@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

An examination of brand management within high performance sport

Supervisors

Johanna Loehr

j.loehr@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Understanding the implications of climate change adaptation to tourism in the South Pacific.

Supervisors

Rubiana Lopes Cury

r.lopescury@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

An examination of high performance directors' leadership capabilities and performance impact

Supervisors

Ricardo Mahshi

r.mahshi@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Generation Z and the meaning of work and career choice in the hospitality industry

Supervisors

MD Ruhul Amin Mollah

mdruhulamin.mollah@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Development of Tourism through Sports beyond the Traditional Approaches: A Special Focus on Cricket

Supervisors

Erin Nichols

e.nichols@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

'Punch-Face-Friends': Mauy Thai as a site of (un)learning gender and the politics of multiplicity

Supervisors

Joseph Nolan

joseph.nolan@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Communication, Co-creation and Culture: A comparative study of inter-sport relationship quality

Supervisors

Paresh Pant

p.pant@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Mobile technology readiness of Australian tourism suppliers to target Chinese millennial tourists

Supervisors

Rachel Perkins

rachel.perkins@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Business clustering as a destination branding tool for regional small tourism firms

Supervisors

Putu Devi Rosalina

p.rosalinai@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

The Integrated Rural Tourism towards the development of sustainability in Bali

Supervisors

Lakshi Senevirathna

lakshi.senevirathna@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Community engagement in hallmark events

Supervisors

Ka Pou Sio

ada.sio@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

From Jackpot to Hotpot: Reimaging Macau as a gastronomic destination

Supervisors

Wei Yii (Mark) Teoh

m.teoh@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Capturing transformations: Culture's role in transformative experiences

Supervisors

Andrew Thrush

a.thrush@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

An Investigation of Organisational Capacity in Australian Surfing

Supervisors

Jihyun (Mona) Yang

monajihyun.yang@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

The impact of tourism on the quality of life of child labourers working in the tourism industry

Supervisors

Yi Yang

yi.yang11@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Ecotourism and livelihood sustainability in a ecologically sensitive area: A case in Yunnan, China

Supervisors

Rui Yuan (Ryan) Yung

r.yung@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

The future is now: Exploring virtual reality as a risk reduction tool in travel planning

Supervisors

Carlos Eugenio Zardini Filho

carloseugenio.zardinifilho@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Para-elite sports success: A model of sports policy analysis and international comparison

Supervisors

Yachen (Katy) Zhang

yachen.zhang@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

The impact of awe on depersonalisation process in post disaster sites

Supervisors