Research in Accounting, Finance and Economics

Our research students form an important part of our community. We take pride in actively supporting emerging scholars and involving them in the activities of the School and partner research centres. HDR students also have access to our academic experts for advice on research methods, conference and workshop presentation skills, and preparing work for publication in scholarly journals.

Scholarships

HDR students can apply for a range of scholarships to cover tuition fees, living allowances, relocation and thesis allowances.

A number of different scholarships may be offered throughout the year, which are funded by Griffith academic areas or external funding bodies.

Considering HDR study?

Contact us to find out more

Higher degree by research students

Syed Abbas

syed.abbas@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Cyclicality, Stability, and Welfare Effects of Aid and Remittances: Evidence from Developing World

Supervisors

Professor Jayatilleke Bandaralage

Professor Saroja Selvanathan

Professor Selva Selvanathan

Prince Acheampong

p.acheampong@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Financing Build-to-Rent Affordable Housing in Australia: The role of Institutional Investors

Supervisors

Professor Eduardo Roca

Dr Byung Min

Dr Benjamin Liu

Professor George Earl

Associate Professor Richard Yiu-Ming Chung

Yaqoub Alduraywish

yaqoub.alduraywish@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Evidence from the U.K. on Auditor’s Judgment in the Risks of Material Misstatement: Determinants and Consequences

Supervisors

Professor Reza Monem

A Ng

Abdulrahman Alhassun

abdulrahman.alhassun@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

The Relationship between Corporate Governance, Earnings Management and Earnings Quality

Supervisors

Professor Reza Monem

Dr Mohammed Hossain

Lasantha Ariyarathna

lasantha.ariyarathna@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Copyright infringement and intermediary liability with an emphasis on cloud computing

Supervisors

Dr Kanchana Kariyawasam

Althaf Marsoof

Dr John Minas

Namal Balasooriya Mudiyanselage

namal.balasooriyamudiyanselage@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Health and socio-economic status: Empirical Investigation on Non-Communicable Diseases (NCDs)

Supervisors

Professor Jayatilleke Bandaralage

Associate Professor Nicholas Rohde

Melissa Belle Isle

m.belleisle@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Small business cash flow stability in the service sector: Is there a relationship with tax obligations?

Supervisors

Professor Brett Freudenberg

Tapan Sarker

Ryszard Bliszczyk

ryszard.bliszczyk@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Social context matters : Identity economics & salience of social identification in economic choice

Supervisors

Associate Professor Andreas Chai

Professor David Butler

Lisa Farrell

Lakshi Boolaky Doorgakunt

l.boolakydoorgakunt@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Investigating the economic impact of International Standard of Auditing(ISA): A cross country study

Supervisors

Associate Professor Tarlok Singh

Dr Jen-Je Su

Xiaoyue Chen

xiaoyue.chen@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Three studies on cross-sectional asset pricing

Supervisors

Dr Bin Li

Professor Andrew Worthington

Lee-Yun Chiang

lee-yun.chiang@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Affordable Housing as an Infrastructure Investment

Supervisors

Professor Eduardo Roca

Dr Benjamin Liu

Associate Professor Richard Yiu-Ming Chung

Augustine Conteh

augustine.conteh@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

The nexus between infrastructure value and residential property value in Queensland: a real option

Supervisors

Professor Robert Bianchi

Professor Eduardo Roca

Simeon Azrasentario Paolo Conterius

simeonazrasentariopaolo.conterius@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Foreign investors impact in the domestic government bonds market: case of Indonesia

Supervisors

Professor Eduardo Roca

Dr Alexandr Akimov

Amanda Craft

amanda.craft@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

The impact of culture on financial advice.

Supervisors

Professor Mark Brimble

Dr Katherine Hunt

Michelle Cull

Vanessa Crawford

vanessa.crawford@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Beyond Work Integrated Learning (WIL): A Pilot Program for International Postgraduate Students

Supervisors

Professor Mark Brimble

Professor Brett Freudenberg

Tatiana Driver

tania.driver@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

WHAT ARE THE FACTORS THAT INFLUENCE SMALL TO MEDIUM SIZED BUSINESS OWNERS' DECISION

Supervisors

Professor Mark Brimble

Professor Brett Freudenberg

Adrian Edwards

adrian.edwards@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

A critical review of the capital raising and managed investment frameworks in the Corporations Act

Supervisors

Dr Richard Copp

Associate Professor Therese Wilson

Brendan French

b.french@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

What Co-curricular Interventions contribute to facilitating the Academic Success and Retention of Non-Traditional Commencing Students Identified to be At Risk of Academic Failure or Early Attrition?

Supervisors

Professor Ruth McPhail

Dr Richard Copp

Olav Muurlink

Amin Gharipour

a.gharipour@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Assessing the Impact of Numerical and Financial Literacy on Women's Decision Making in the Retail Environment

Supervisors

Professor David Butler

Dr Tracey West

Conrad Gilbert

conrad.gilbert@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

The trade-off between dynamic objectives based financial advice and regulation

Supervisors

Professor Robert Bianchi

Professor Michael Drew

Singgih Gunarsa

singgih.gunarsa@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

An Empirical Investigation of Key Issues in Fiscal Policy in Indonesia: 1968-2010

Supervisors

Professor Anthony Makin

Professor Ross Guest

Associate Professor Nicholas Rohde

M Luthfi Hamidi

mluthfi.hamidi@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

A Framework for Islamic Social Banking

Supervisors

Professor Andrew Worthington

Dr Tracey West

Rifki Ismal

Sharon Hayes

s.hayes@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Using WIL to produce work-ready accounting graduates for small to medium accounting firms.

Supervisors

Professor Brett Freudenberg

Dr Craig Cameron

Dr Kerry Bodle

Leeanne Hodgson

l.hodgson@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

A Regulatory Evaluation Framework To Protect The Investor From Investment Fraud

Supervisors

Professor Robert Bianchi

Jeleta Kebede

jeleta.kebede@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

FINANCIAL INCLUSION, INEQUALITY AND POVERTY IN SUB SAHARAN AFRICA: DOES INSTITUTION MATTER?

Supervisors

Dr Athula Naranpanawa

Professor Saroja Selvanathan

Sonja Kobinger

s.kobinger@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Dynamics of stock return predictability in the international equity market:A Time-Series Approach

Supervisors

Dr Graham Bornholt

Dr Mirela Malin

Gihani Mandala Waththage

gihani.mandalawaththage@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Sustainability,Organisational Strategy and Management Control Systems

Supervisors

Dr Lanita Winata

Dr Kerry Bodle

Patrick Mauder

patrick.mauder@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Indigenous Entrepreneurial Activity: The Role of Financial Literacy

Supervisors

Dr Robyn-Ann Cameron

Dr Kerry Bodle

Ashkan Mirzay Fashami

a.mirzayfashami@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Determinants and Consequences of Auditors Low-balling: Evidence from Australia

Supervisors

Professor Reza Monem

Professor Shireenjit Johl

Elizabeth Mitchell

elizabeth.mitchell3@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Determinants of financial literacy - why are some individuals more financially literate than others.

Supervisors

Professor Mark Brimble

Dr Tracey West

Ripon Mondal

r.mondal@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

The Impacts of Off-farm Employment on Food Security and Nutrition of Rural Households in Bangladesh

Supervisors

Professor Saroja Selvanathan

Moazzem Hossain

Professor Selva Selvanathan

Dr Parvinder Kler

Prabath Morawakage

p.morawakage@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

An analysis of Risk Return Trade-off in Real Estate Market with Special Reference to Affordable Housing Investments in Australia

Supervisors

Professor Eduardo Roca

Dr Benjamin Liu

Associate Professor Richard Yiu-Ming Chung

Sivathaasan Nadarajah

sivathaasan.nadarajah@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Stock Liquidity, Board Gender Diversity, National Culture, and Default Risk around the Globe.

Supervisors

Dr Benjamin Liu

Dr Allen Huang

Nasser Nasser

nasser.nasser@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

The Audit Expectation Gap in an Emerging Economy: Evidence from Kuwait

Supervisors

Professor Reza Monem

A Ng

Uththara Neelawela

u.neelawela@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Policy tools for a secure and sustainable electricity sector

Supervisors

Professor Selva Selvanathan

Dr Liam Wagner

Luan Nguyen

leon.nguyen@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

The synergistic impacts of various Free Trade Agreements on Oil and Gas sector

Supervisors

Dr Liam Wagner

Dr Shyama Ratnasiri

Lan Nguyen

lan.t.nguyen@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Health benefits: Interplay between policies, private health insurances, customer behaviours.

Supervisors

Professor Andrew Worthington

Professor Selva Selvanathan

Lan Nguyen

l.nguyen1@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Credit Constraints and Firm Performance: A Study of Manufacturing SMEs in Vietnam

Supervisors

Dr Parmendra Sharma

Dr Jen-Je Su

Gabriel Paes Herrera

gabriel.paesherrera@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Analysis of sustainable agricultural systems through machine learning

Supervisors

Dr Athula Naranpanawa

Dr Jen-Je Su

Michel Constantino

Thuc Pham

hien-thuc.pham@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Culture and Fiscal Policy

Supervisors

Professor Fabrizio Carmignani

Dr Parvinder Kler

Anna Ploszaj

anna.ploszaj@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Income inequality and psychosocial processes in Australia

Supervisors

Associate Professor Tarlok Singh

Dr Jen-Je Su

Radies Purbo

radies.purbo@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

The implementation of Public Private Partnerships in the Subnational Governments of Indonesia

Supervisors

Professor Christine Smith

Professor Robert Bianchi

Shashika Rathnayaka Mudiyanselage

s.rathnayakamudiyanselage@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Economic Analysis of Organic Tea Small Holding Sector in Sri Lanka

Supervisors

Professor Saroja Selvanathan

Professor Selva Selvanathan

Dr Parvinder Kler

Kalyani Rathu Manannalage

k.rathumanannalage@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Incidence of Value Added Tax (VAT) in the Developing Countries: A Case in Sri Lanka

Supervisors

Dr Shyama Ratnasiri

Associate Professor Andreas Chai

Lawren Rumokoy

julio.rumokoy@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Proximity and Underwriter Performance: Does Physical Location Matter?

Supervisors

Associate Professor Richard Yiu-Ming Chung

Dr Benjamin Liu

Brett Ryder

brett.ryder@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Essays In Australian Macroeconomic History

Supervisors

Associate Professor Tarlok Singh

Professor Anthony Makin

Lisa Samarkovski

l.samarkovski@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Tax Concessions and Superannuation: Essays on the impact of tax on retirement outcomes in Australia

Supervisors

Dr Richard Copp

Professor Brett Freudenberg

Chamila Thushara Senadeerage

chamilathushara.senadeerage@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Modelling International Tourism Demand and Implications of Its Volatility for Sri Lanka at a Disaggregate Level

Supervisors

Professor Jayatilleke Bandaralage

Dr Jen-Je Su

Vincent Tawiah

v.tawiah@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

ADOPTION, COMPLIANCE, AND CONSEQUENCES OF INTERNATIONAL FINANCIAL REPORTING STANDARDS IN AFRICA.

Supervisors

Dr Fang Hu

Barbara Trad

b.trad@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Effective Business Structures for Australian Small and Medium Enterprises

Supervisors

Professor Brett Freudenberg

Dr John Minas

Dr Richard Copp

Deni Wahidin

deni.wahidin@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Bond Market Development and Economic Growth in Indonesia

Supervisors

Professor Eduardo Roca

Dr Alexandr Akimov

Lindy Lou West

lindylou.west@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Strategic Performance Management and Australian Not for Profits

Supervisors

Professor Andrew Worthington

Helen Higgs

Kanchana Wickramasinghe

kanchana.wickramasinghe@griffithuni.edu.au

Thesis

Demand for Climate Insurance by Paddy and Vegetable Farmers in Sri Lanka:  A Comparative Assessment

Supervisors

Dr Athula Naranpanawa

Dr Shyama Ratnasiri

Kejia Yan

kejia.yan@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

The Term Structure of Interest Rates on China Fixed Income Market with Nelson-Siegel Model

Supervisors

Dr Rakesh Gupta

Dr Victor Wong

Tingxi Zhang

tingxi.zhang@griffith.edu.au

Thesis

Essays on Chinese Commodity Futures Markets

Supervisors

Dr John Fan

Professor Robert Bianchi