Meet our remarkable people

The Environmental Futures Research Institute has a diverse group of researchers, affiliates and professional staff. To find out more about our members’ individual research strengths and PhD supervision, follow the links to their Griffith Experts profiles.


Professor Zhihong Xu

  • Biogeochemical cycles of carbon and nutrients
  • Climate change and food security
  • Forest Soils and ecosystem management
  • Global climate change and forest management
  • Soil and environmental chemistry
  • Stable isotope and nuclear magnetic resonance techniques
  • Sustainable landscape and food production
  • Tree nutrition and forest ecophysiology
  • Wood quality and chemistry

Deputy Director

Professor Huijun Zhao

  • Analytical chemistry
  • Approved topic

Deputy Director

Professor Darryl Jones

  • Urban ecology and wildlife management
  • Urbanisation and the way certain species are adapting to this process
  • Megapodes (mound-builders)
  • Corvids
  • Implications of garden bird feeding

Full members

Adjunct members

  • Dr Mark Annandale
  • Professor Gary Bacon
  • Dr Lilia Bernede
  • Dr Sandra Berry
  • Professor Richard Burns
  • Dr Sonya Clegg
  • Dr Deidre Cobbin
  • Associate Professor John Cockrem
  • Dr Jason Coughran
  • Mr Bob Coutts
  • Dr Caitlin Curtis
  • Dr Valerie Debuse
  • Emiterus Professor Dick Drew
  • Dr Leila Eslami-Andargoli
  • Dr Amanda Freeman
  • Dr Jenni Garden
  • Professor Hossein Ghadiri
  • Dr Rhonda Green
  • Dr Colin Groves
  • Professor Russell Haines
  • Dr Kim Hamilton
  • Dr Ji-Zheng (Jim) He
  • Dr Enqing Hou
  • Dr Kees Hulsman
  • Dr Christopher Johnson
  • Dr John Kanowski
  • Dr Anne Kemp
  • Dr Aila Keto
  • Dr Jon Knight
  • Dr Chao Lai
  • Dr Catherine Moran
  • Professor Ron Nielsen
  • Dr Richard Noske
  • Dr Segun Osunkoya
  • Dr Raina Plowright
  • Dr Frederique Reverchon
  • Emiterus Professor Roy Rickson
  • Dr Denis Rodgers
  • Professor Hwat-Bing So
  • Dr Nicolas Spilmont
  • Dr Sankar Subramanian
  • Professor Zhiyong Tang
  • Dr Graeme M Taylor
  • Professor Peter Teasdale
  • Dr Robin Thwaites
  • Dr Haimin Zhang

Visiting researchers

  • Dr Haibo Dong
  • Dr Fang Fang
  • Dr Yanbin Hao
  • Ms Wenjuan Huang
  • Ms Qi Jiang
  • Dr Xinhuang Kang
  • Dr Shen Li
  • Dr Junqiang Zheng
  • Dr Jianyu Liu
  • Mr Chengsi Pan
  • Mr Qingfeng Sun
  • Associate Professor Ying Teng
  • Dr Yixang Wang
  • Mr Yuzhe Wang
  • Ms Yan Xu
  • Dr Yongbo Xu
  • Ms Huafeng Yang
  • Miss Fan Yang
  • Miss Lu Yun
  • Dr Peng Zhang
  • Dr Huanyu Zhao

Research staff

  • Dr Ido Bar
  • Dr Shan Chen
  • Dr Tara Clark
  • Dr Yuhai Dou
  • Dr Laura Grogan
  • Wenjing Li
  • Dr Yantao Li
  • Dr Richard O'Rourke
  • Dr Alex Quinn
  • Dr Prabhakaran Sambasivam
  • Dr Ge Shi
  • Dr Li Sheng
  • Dr Shujun Wang
  • Dr Konstans Wells
  • Dr Sally Wasef
  • Dr Huajie Yin
  • Dr Lei Zhang

Administrative staff

  • Dian Riseley
  • Christina Perry


We encourage our members to collaborate with researchers from other universities, faculties and research centres. If you are interested in becoming an affiliate member of the Environmental Futures Research Institute, please contact Dian Riseley.

Our current affiliates include:

  • Dr Valerie Debuse
  • Dr Steve Phillips
  • Dr Ben Lawson
  • Dr John Kanowski.

Want to know more?

Contact the Environmental Futures Research Institute