Partnerships and collaborations

The Institute for Ethics, Governance and Law (IEGL) was established by a bilateral agreement between the United nations University (UNU) and Griffith University thereby designated IEGL as a “UNU Associated Institution”. IEGL represented the UNU’s first and only presence in Oceania.  IEGL was established in September 2004 at the suggestion of the UNU to fill an important gap in UNU’s research (in ethics, governance and law).  It is headquartered at Griffith University in Brisbane, Australia, where its former  Key Centre for Ethics, Law, Justice and Governance (KCELJAG) was identified by the UNU as delivering the global benchmark for governance-related research work and policy implementation.  Its “national integrity systems” model and methodology, in particular, have been recognised by Transparency International and adopted as global best practice by the World Bank.
IEGL’s vision to be a “globally networked resource for the development of values-based governance through research and capacity building” has brought together a number of partner institutions through bilateral agreements with Griffith University.


Our Approach to Governance Reform

Our Approach to Governance Reform (PDF 105k)


The Institute for Ethics, Governance and Law (IEGL) Advisory Board

Membership of the Board comprises:

  • The Hon Justice Margaret McMurdo AC DUniv, President Court of Appeal, Supreme Court of Queensland (Chair)
  • Professor Charles Sampford, Griffith University, Director IEGL
  • Carmel Connors, IEGL, Secretary

External Members

  • Lt Gen John Sanderson AC, Adjunct Professor, Griffith University
  • Greg Vickery AO 

Ex Officio members

  • Professor Paul Mazerolle, Pro Vice Chancellor (Arts, Education & Law), Griffith University
  • Professor Ross Homel, Director KCELJAG, Griffith University
  • Professor Kim Rubenstein, Director CIPL, Australian National University
  • Professor Pene Mathew, Dean, Griffith Law School
  • Professor Ramesh Thakur, ANU
  • Prof Reece Walters, Asst. Dean (Research), Faculty of Law, QUT





Back to top