Developing capacity for research and policy formulation in the Pacific Island economies

PICDPR ’s predecessor, the South Pacific Centre for Central Banking (SPCCB) was founded in 2016 following the inaugural Deputy Governors’ Central Banking Symposium hosted by Griffith University, where discussions were held to elevate the region's study group (South Pacific Study Group) into a research centre for central banking. The SPCCB was formed to bring together world-class economic and finance experts, with a clear aim to help build capacity for research and policy formulation and has been committed to developing capacity for research and policy formulation at the South Pacific Central Banks.

The PICDPR intends to expand SPCCB’s capacity development goals and objectives to policymaking and research institutions and organisations beyond the central banks in the region. The COVID-19 pandemic has demonstrated yet again the need for various institutions to collaborate within the country and regionally.

Download DFAT Report on SPCCB (PDF)


Entrenching academic rigour, analysis and evidence in economic policy making in the Pacific Islands through research, training and policy outreach.


Strengthening local and regional capacity for conducting independent, rigorous inquiry into the problems facing the management of economies in the Pacific Islands, founded on two basic premises:

  • that development is more likely to occur where there is sustained sound management of the economy
  • that such management is more likely to occur where there is an active, well-informed group of locally based professional economists to conduct policy-relevant research.


  • to build a credible local capacity for policy-oriented research
  • to generate research results for use by policy analysts and policy makers
  • to promote links between research and policy
  • to encourage retention of high-quality researchers
  • to enhance global visibility of the region’s research and policy-making endeavours.

Key Funding Partners

Griffith currently has developing capacity MoUs with the central banks of Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu. Timor-Leste and the Republic of the Marshall Islands Office of the Banking Commission.

You may follow the links below to the respective web sites.

Key stakeholders

ADB logo
DFAT logo
IMF logo
RBA logo
RBNZ logo
WB logo

Banco Central de Timor-Leste

Mr Marcelino de Jesus da Costa

Mr Octavio Manuel dos Reis

Bank of Papua New Guinea

Mr Jeconiah Hamu

Mr Solomon Kasingu

Mr Mark Ofoi

Ms Gail Sabok

Ms Diana Tuam

Mr Meson Tumsok

Central Bank of Solomon Islands

Mr Jack Boe

Ms Angeline Rohoia

Mrs Vitarina Takana

Reserve Bank of Fiji

Ms Lavenia Cocker

Ms Disusu Delana

Mr Shelvin Karan

Ms Savaira Manoa

Mr Devendra Narain

Mr Krishal Prasad

Ms Kalolaini Ranadi

Ms Kelera Rogoiruwai

Ms Akata Taito

Mr Seci Taleniwesi

Mr Matia Tuisawau

Reserve Bank of Vanuatu

Ms Alison Baniuri

Mr Arold Bill

Ms Cynthia Moli

Ms Lynette Ragonma

Ms Gloria Siri

Fiji Bureau of Statistics

Mr Mitieli Cama

Griffith University

Ms Nirma Sadamali Jayawardena

Dr Nirodha Jayawardena

Dr Son Nghiem

Dr Lan Nguyen

Professor Eduardo Roca

Dr Parmendra Sharma

Associate Professor Tarlok Singh

Dr Jen-Je Su

Dr Tracey West

Mr Tingxi Zhang

Contact details

Griffith Asia Institute, Griffith University
Room 1.30, Macrossan Building N16
170 Kessels Road
Nathan QLD 4111


Privacy * Your privacy is important to us. Information you supply will be handled strictly in accordance with our Privacy Plan.