Meet the Council

The Griffith Asia Institute Advisory Council was formed in 2005 to support the Director, staff and members in achieving the goals of the University and the strategic vision of the Griffith Asia Institute.


The Advisory Council provides strategic advice to the Griffith Asia Institute on:

  • its research profile, activities, structure and strategic direction
  • ways in which the Griffith Asia Institute can improve its links with industry and government and also raise its profile in the wider community
  • achieving its objective of becoming a widely recognised leading Centre contributing to scholarship and international debate on the Asia–Pacific region and its importance to Australia
  • fundraising to support research activities.

Council Members

Bruce Miller AO


Professor Caitlin Byrne

Director, Griffith Asia Institute

Clinton Dines

Member, Griffith University Council

Professor David Grant

Pro Vice Chancellor Business, Griffith University

Kathy Klugman

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Dr Huong Le Thu

Australian Strategic Policy Institute

Sung Lee

PwC Australia

Graham Perrett MP

Federal Member for Moreton

Chris Rees


Professor Sarah Todd

Pro Vice Chancellor International, Griffith University

Get in touch

Discover more about working, studying or collaborating with us