

Queensland, Australia

APPLICATION **BASIL JONES SONATA PRIZE 2023**

STUDENT NAME:		Student No:	
STUDENT NAME:		Student No:	
Contact Phone Number:			
ADDRESS 1:			
ADDRESS 2:			
E-MAIL:			
Course & Year In Which Yo	u Are Enrolled:		
Prize Name:	Basil Jones Sonata Prize 2023		
Responsible Dept:	Strings/Keyboard		
Approx. Prize Value:	\$500 – to be split equally between both r	nusicians	
Preliminary Round:	Monday 18 September 2023 6.30pm	lan Hanger Recital Hall	
FINAL:	Tuesday 19 September 2023 6.30pm	lan Hanger Recital Hall	
Entries Close:	4.00pm on Friday 25 August 2023		

- Hand completed application form to the Operations Administrator (rm 2.64) or by e-mail on • c.wharton@griffith.edu.au
- Late applications will not be accepted. ٠

DETAILS OF PROGRAMME

To enable the production of an accurate programme, please PRINT or TYPE your selection clearly.

COMPOSER	TITLE/Opus No.	DURATION

If you are only available at a certain time in the competition period, please note that period here.

Between: and:

SIGNATURE:		Date:
------------	--	-------

Basil Jones Sonata Prize 2023 APPLICATION FORM and RULES

Queensland, Australia

BASIL JONES SONATA PRIZE 2023

1.0 NAME OF COMPETITION

1.1 Basil Jones Sonata Prize

2.0 DONOR OF PRIZE

2.1 String & Keyboard Departments

GriffithUNIVERSITY Queensland Conservatorium

3.0 NATURE OF PRIZE

3.1 2023 approx. \$500 to be split equally between both musicians

4.0 DURATION OF PRIZE

4.1 The Prize is offered on an annual basis.

5.0 ELIGIBILITY FOR PRIZE

- 5.1 Violin/Piano, Viola/Piano, Cello/Piano, Double Bass/Piano
- 5.2 Awarded to a Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University student duo judged to have performed, in competition, the best Sonata for stringed instrument and piano.

6.0 SELECTION PROCESS

- 6.1 All competitors are required to play a sonata of their own choice
- 6.2 Judges are to be appointed by the Director.
- 6.3 No judge may be the teacher of student who is competing

7.0 ADMINISTRATION OF THE PRIZE

7.1 The Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University will be responsible for the administration of the prize

Previous recipients of this award

1995	Gregory Lee, Lance Coburn	2009	Diana Yusupov & David Jenkin
1996		2010	Jesre Stenson & Ben Austin
1997		2011	Gregory David & Lachlan Dorse
1998	Paul Hankinson, Gina Driscoll	2012	Eddy Chen & Alex Raineri
1999	Misa Yamamoto, David Irving, Andrew Shetliffe, Liam Viney	2013	Brett Yang & Aaron Liu
2000	Martin Barker, Brieley cutting	2014	Rira Kong & Lachlan Dorse
2001	Misa Yamamoto, Megan Waters	2015	Evalyn Legried & Imogen Scott-Parker
2002	Fumi Kawakami, Blair Harris	2016	Julia Janiszewski & Rachael Shipard
2003	Christine Wu, Matthew Rigby	2017	Clare Cooney & Oscar Wong
2004	Nathaniel Primrose-Heaney, Alex Stojakovic	2018	Hamish Jamieson & Matthew Garvie
2005	Roger Cui, Lisa Miller	2019	Michael Gibson & Tokiwa Onada
2006	Campbell Bank & Jayson Gillham	2020	Fiona Qiu & Matthew Garvie
2007	Rachel Meredith & Anny Lu	2021	Robert Smith & Francis Atkins
2008	Andrew Chamberlain & Maggie Chen	2022	Kevin Hsu & Reuben Tsang