

APPLICATION

MARGARET NICKSON PRIZES FOR VOICE AND ACCOMPANIMENT 2024

STUDENT 1 NAME:	NO:
STUDENT 2 NAME:	NO:
Contact Phone Number 1:	
Contact Phone Number 2:	
E-MAIL 1:	
E-MAIL 2:	
Course/s & Year/s In Which Y	ou Are Enrolled:
Prize Name:	MARGARET NICKSON PRIZES FOR VOICE AND ACCOMPANIMENT 2024
Responsible Department:	Keyboard / Voice
Approx. Prize Value:	
Margaret Nickson Prizes for V	oice and Accompaniment - \$300.00 to be shared equally between vocalist &
accompanist	

COMPETITION:	TUESDAY 1 OCTOBER 2024 - 6.30pm	lan Hanger Recital Hall
ENTRIES CLOSE	4.00pm on Friday 20 September 2024	

- Hand completed application form to the Operations Administrator (rm 2.64) or by e-mail on c.wharton@griffith.edu.au
- Late applications will not be accepted.

DETAILS OF PROGRAMME

To enable the production of an accurate programme, please PRINT or TYPE your selection clearly.

COMPOSER	TITLE / Opus No.	Duration
	COMPOSER	COMPOSER TITLE / Opus No.

If you are only available at a certain time in the competition period, please note that period here.....

Signature:

Date:



MARGARET NICKSON PRIZES FOR VOICE AND ACCOMPANIMENT 2024

1.0 NAME OF COMPETITION

1.1 Margaret Nickson Prizes for Voice and Accompaniment

2.0 DONOR OF PRIZE

- 2.1 Emily Hammond Fund and donations from the general public and past students
- 2.2 Mr Robert Keane, annual donation from 2008
- 3.0 NATURE OF PRIZE
 - 3.1 2024 approximately \$300 to be shared equally between vocalist and accompanist

4.0 DURATION OF PRIZE

4.1 The prizes are to be offered on an annual basis

5.0 ELIGIBILITY FOR PRIZE

5.1 Awarded to two full-time Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University classical voice and classical piano students for the best partnership between vocalist and accompanist

6.0 SELECTION PROCESS

- 6.1 Competitors are required to perform:
 - a. a song by Handel or Purcell
 - b. a French Melodie sung in the original language, and
 - c. a German lied sung in the original language
- 6.2 Judges are to be appointed by the Director or his nominee. No judge may be the teacher of a student who is competing.
- 6.3 A preliminary round may be held if required.

7.0 ADMINISTRATION OF THE PRIZE

7.1 The Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University will be responsible for the administration of the prize, including the publicising of the prize and managing funds associated with the prize.

Previous recipients of this award

1977	Barbara Tree; Colin Spiers	2001	Timothy Grantham; Libby Gleadhill; Robert Proudfoot; Claire Barry
1978	Gillian Gilbert; Piers Lane	2002	Suzanna Hlinka; Milica Ilic;
1979	Amelia Fonti; Solin Spiers	2003	Ireni Utle; Yumi Kuwahara;
1980	Jeffrey Black; Christopher Cook	2004	Yumi Kuwahara; Milica Ilic; Sam Sakker; Marianne Scholem
1981	Lisa Gasteen; Lyn Hess	2005	Adam Herd; Paul Catchlove;
1982	Miriam Gormley; Lyn Hess	2006	Diipti Firmstone, Catherine Lynagh
1983	Margaret Schindler; Philip Mayers	2007	Alicia Lee, Brieley Cutting
1984 William Maxey; Kym Meagher; David Lemke; Jane Massingham; Andrea Morris; Lucille Schloss		2008	Monique Latimore & Maggie Chen
1985	No competition	2009	Bethan Ellsmore and Ben Austin
1986	Claire Gormley; Fiona Harris	2010	Brett Sturdy & Stewart Kelly
1987	Claire Gormley; Fiona Harris; Jason Smith; Tracy Chiu	2011	Tabatha McFadyen & Alex Raineri
1988	Chris Josey; Kathryn Courtenay; Chris Stobic; Paul Turner	2012	Douglas Kelly & Lachlan Dorse
1989	Matthew Henrick; Helen McDiarmid; Leanne Kennedley; Sonya van de Graaf	2013	Jessie Wilson & Aaron Liu
1990	Andrew Collis; Sharon Andrews; Shawn Brown; Lana Higson	2014	Chris McNee & Tamara Peacock
1991	Kaspm Smith; Lana Higson; Shelli Gilhome; Felicity Goodwin	2015	Kathryn George & Mark Connors
1992	Jae-Woo Kim; Hae-Kyung Shing; Stuart Quill; Janice Ng	2016	Jane Magao & Imogen Scott-Parker
1993	Anneliese Kelvin; Katrina Jarrett; Donn-Maree Dunlop; Martha Meszaros; Shelli Gilhome; Jodie Schloss	2017	Xenia Puskarz Thomas & Elli Welsh
1994	Tracy Iles-Leith; Paul Hankinson; Jodie Schloss; Shelli Gilhome	2018	Cassandra Wright & Oscar Wong
1995	Christian Gante; Les Flanagan; Matthew Hickey; Paul Hankinson	2019	Tom Nicholson & Ruby Luck
1996	Michael Manikus; Therese Milanovic; Caroline Chown; Spencer Silby	2020	Not run in 2020
1997		2021	Mai-Lien Olsson & Jack Bolton
1998		2022	Shannah Goh & Phuong Do
1999		2023	Rebecca Goobanko & Reuben Tsang
2000			