

RONALD CLIFFORD DAVIS VIOLIN PRIZE 2024

1.0 NAME OF COMPETITION

1.1 Ronald Clifford Davis Violin Prize

2.0 DONOR OF PRIZE

2.1 Estate of Ronald Clifford Davis

3.0 NATURE OF PRIZE

3.1 2024 Cash prize/s up to a total of approx. \$8,000

4.0 DURATION OF PRIZE

4.1 The scholarship is to be offered on an annual basis.

5.0 ELIGIBILITY OF PRIZE

Awarded to a Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University male classical violin student presently undertaking violin studies at the Conservatorium, or a male classical violin student who has graduated from the Conservatorium and is able to provide evidence that they are financially disadvantaged.

6.0 SELECTION PROCESS

- 6.1 Competitors are required to perform three pieces lasting a total of not more than 15 minutes in duration. The selection panel will choose what piece(s) it wishes to hear of those submitted.
- 6.2 All applicants <u>must</u> attach to their entry forms a detailed letter (not less than 500 words) indicating their:
 - 6.2.1 financial circumstances
 - 6.2.2 need for the scholarship
 - 6.2.3 their future and postgraduate study plans at an institution in Australia or overseas or with a private tutor overseas
- 6.3 The Director may award a scholarship(s) to an eligible student on the recommendation of the panel without an audition.
- 6.4 The competition will be judged by a panel of three judges, such judges being appointed by the Director (or their nominee).

7.0 ADMINISTRATION OF THE PRIZE

7.1 The Queensland Conservatorium, Griffith University will be responsible for the administration of the scholarship, including the publicising of the scholarship and managing funds associated with the scholarship.

Winners of Ronald Clifford Davis Violin Prize

vviiiiiei 3	of Rollaid Cilifold Davis Violiti Flize				
1989	Graeme Jennings	2007	1 st Richard Pollett; Tristan Selke, Lachlan O'Donnell 2 nd Nicholas		
1303	Graeme semmigs	2007	Thin; David Dalseno; Hayato Simpson		
1991	Roger Young	2008	Lachlan O'Donnell		
1992	Roger Young	2009	Glenn Christensen		
1993	Gregory Lee; Shenton Gregory	2010	1 Glenn Christensen, 2. Brett Yang, 3 Tristan Selke.		
1994	Sheng-Kae Cheng	2011	Glenn Christensen & Brett Yang (joint 1st)		
1995	Gregory Lee	2012	Eddy Chen, Brett Yang		
1996	Gregory Lee	2013	Brett Yang		
1997	Yu-feng Huang	2014	Eddy Chen		
1998	Bacco Liu	2015	Johnny Van Gend		
1999	Benjamin Greaves; Bacco Liu	2016	Lachlan Wilkins		
2000	Katei Chang; Benjamin Greaves	2017	Johnny Van Gend		
2001	David Irving	2018	Harry Egerton		
2002	Matthew Rigby; Michael Russo	2019	Harry Egerton		
2003	Matthew Rigby	2020	Harry Egerton		
2004	Richard Pollett; Matthew Rigby	2021	Harry Egerton		
2005	Matthew Rigby	2022	Robert Smith		
2006	Matthew Rigby, Richard Pollet, 2 nd Lyndon chester; 2 nd David Dalseno	2023	Joint: Kevin Hsu & Luke Hammer		



APPLICATION Ronald Clifford Davis Violin Prize 2024

STUDENT NAME:			NO:				
CONTACT PHONE NUMBER:							
ADDRESS:							
E-MAIL:							
COURSE & YEAR IN WHICH YOU ARE ENROLLED:							
PRIZE NAME: RESPONSIBLE DEPARTMENT:		Ronald Clifford Davis Violin Prize 2024 Strings					
APPROX. PRIZE VALUE:		Prizes up to a total of \$8000					
DATE OF COMPETITI	ON:	Monday 12 August 2024 - 6.30pm Ian Hanger	Recital Hall				
ENTRIES CLOSE		Friday 2 August at 4.00 pm					
 Hand completed application form to the Operations Administrator (rm 2.64) or by e-mail on c.wharton@griffith.edu.au Late applications will not be accepted. 							
DETAILS OF PROGRAMME All titles must be TYPED or PRINTED clearly <u>IN FULL</u> (name, key, op, instrument etc)							
COMPOSER		TITLE/Opus No.	DURATION				
Please indicate if you are only available at a certain time in the competition period:							
SIGNATURE:		Date:					