

# APPLICATION MINNIE MAY BUSSEY PRIZE 2024

Contact Phone Number:	NO:	NO:			
E-MAIL:					
Course & Year in Which	You Are Enrolled:				
Prize Name:		Minnie May Bussey Prize 2024			
Responsible Departmen		Keyboard			
Approx. Prize Value:	\$600.00				
Date Of Competition:	TUESDAY 13 AUGUST 2024 6.30PM Ian Hanger Recital Ha	TUESDAY 13 AUGUST 2024 6.30PM Ian Hanger Recital Hall			
Entries Close	Friday 2 August 2024 at 4.00 pm				
<ul> <li>Hand completed application form to the Operations Administrator (rm 2.64) or by e-mail on c.wharton@griffith.edu.au</li> <li>Late applications will not be accepted.</li> <li>DETAILS OF PROGRAMME         All titles must be TYPED or PRINTED clearly IN FULL (name, key, op, instrument etc)     </li> </ul>					
COMPOSER	TITLE/Opus No.	DURATION			
If you are only available a	I at a certain time in the competition period, please note that period here				
SIGNATURE:	Date				



## **MINNIE MAY BUSSEY PRIZE 2024**

### 1.0 NAME OF COMPETITION

1.1 Minnie May Bussey Prize

## 2.0 DONOR OF PRIZE

2.1 The late Minnie May Bussey

## 3.0 NATURE OF PRIZE

3.1 2024 approximately \$600

# 4.0 DURATION OF PRIZE

4.1 The prize is to be offered on an annual basis

## 5.0 ELIGIBILITY FOR PRIZE

- 5.1 Awarded to a Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University classical piano student for the purpose of undertaking postgraduate studies in pianoforte at the Conservatorium or an approved overseas institution.
- 5.2 Previous winners of this prize are ineligible to enter

#### 6.0 SELECTION PROCESS

- 6.1 All competitors are required to play for between 25-40 minutes duration including 5 minutes for the set piece and the programme must include a work or works from each of the following categories:
  - a. Bach, Mozart, Haydn, Scarlatti, Handel, Couperin:
  - b. Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin, Schumann, Schubert, Franck:
  - c. A virtuoso piece from the Romantic, Modern or Contemporary repertoire:
  - d. A set piece (5 minutes)
- 6.2 In any year when there are no entries of a sufficiently high standard, no prize shall be awarded
- 6.3 The competition will be judged by a panel of three judges, such judges being appointed by the Director or his nominee. No judge shall be the teacher of a student who is competing.

#### 7.0 ADMINISTRATION OF THE PRIZE

7.1 The Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University will be responsible for the administration of the prize, including the publicising of the prize and managing funds associated with the prize.

# Previous recipients of this award

us recipients of this award				
1979	Lynn Hess	2002	Suzanna Hlinka	
1980	Christopher Wrench	2003	John Fisher	
1981	Pam Duane	2004	Ivana Kesumadjaja	
1982	Bernadette Gorman; Shirley Bennett	2005	Jayson Gillham	
1983	Christopher Cook	2006	Adam Herd	
1984	Diana Doherty	2007	Belle Chen	
1985	Andrea Pritchard	2008	Roger Cui	
1986	Kym Meagher	2009	Alex Rainen	
1987	Fiona Harris	2010	Ben Austin	
1988	Sam Youl Ahn	2011	Aaron Liu	
1989	Lana Higson	2012	Jaein Im	
1990	Young-Ah Kim	2013	Sine Winther	
1991	Mark Kruger; Jodie Schloss	2014	Rachael Shipard	
1992	Jennifer Wakeling	2015	Luke Sharp	
1993	Daniel Pitman	2016	Oscar Wong	
1994		2017	Ruby Lack	
1995	Michi Komoto	2018	Samuel Choi	
1996	Sonya Lee	2019	Joint: Tokiwa Onoda, Nina Fann	
1997	Paul Hankinson	2020	Mai-Lien Olsson	
1998	Naomi Waseda	2021	Joint: Reuben Johnson & Joshua Noronha	
1999	Liam Viney	2022	Francis Atkins	
2000	Misa Yamamoto	2023	Reuben Tsang	
2001	Brieley Cutting			