

APPLICATION

BETA SIGMA PHI BRASS PRIZE 2022

Student Name			No
Contact Phone Number			
Contact E-mail			
Course and Year in which yo	are enrolled:		
APPROXIMATE PRIZE VALUE:	first - \$900.00 s	second - \$400.00 third \$200.00	
DATE OF COMPETITION: ENTRIES CLOSE:	TBC at 6.30pm lan	ı Hanger Recital Hall	

- Hand completed application form to the Operations Administrator (rm 2.64) or by e-mail on c.wharton@griffith.edu.au
- Late applications will not be accepted.

DETAILS OF PROGRAMME

To enable the production of an accurate programme, please **PRINT or TYPE** your selection clearly.

COMPOSER	TITLE	duration
	Tota	I time:
If you are only available at	a certain time in the competition period, please note that period here	
Signature:	Date:	



BETA SIGMA PHI BRASS PRIZE 2022

1.0 NAME OF COMPETITION

1.1 Beta Sigma Phi Brass Prize

2.0 DONOR OF PRIZE

2.1 Beta Sigma Phi International – Brisbane City

3.0 NATURE OF PRIZE

3.1 2022 - First Prize \$900, Second Prize \$400, Third Prize \$200

4.0 DURATION OF PRIZE

4.1 The Prize will be offered and reviewed annually until all funds are exhausted.

5.0 ELIGIBILITY FOR PRIZE

5.1 Awarded to a Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University student completing a Bachelor of Music Degree, majoring in Brass, judged to have performed the best two contrasting works in this public competition.

6.0 SELECTION PROCESS

- 6.1 The award of the Prizes shall be determined at a public competition to be held annually.
- 6.2 Judges will be appointed by the Director.
- 6.3 Each entrant is required to present a program of two contrasting works, not exceeding 15 minutes in total.
- The cost of the accompanist will be borne by the entrant.
- 6.5 Previous winners are not eligible to apply.
- 6.6 No judge may be the teacher of a student who is competing.

7.0 ADMINISTRATION OF THE PRIZE

7.1 The Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University will be responsible for the administration of this Prize.

Previous recipients of this award

Year I	Name of Winner
2002	Chris Williams
2003	Thomas Humphrey
2004	Ben Bevis
2005	Carmen Powell
2006	Jamie Kennedy
2007 I	Liam O'Malley
2008	Matthew McGeachin (1st) Paul Cowpe-Pendleton (2nd)
2009	Sharn McIver (1 st) Dee Boyd (2 nd) Armin Terzer (3 rd)
2010	Ashley Carter (1st) Dani Rich (2nd) Oscar McDonald (3rd)
2011 I	Emma Gregan (1st) Samuel Nolan (2nd) Caitlin Carte (3rd)
2012	Samuel Nolan (1st) Anton Kalisch-Smith (2nd) Ben Messenger (3rd)
2013 I	Lauren Whitehead (1st) Alex Miller (2nd) Jack Denny (3rd)
2014	James Blackford (1st) James Bradley (2nd) Ben Messenger (3rd)
2015	Tetsuya Lawson (1 st) Aiden Gabriels (2 nd) Renee Kennedy (3 rd)
2016	George Wilson (1st) Emily Newham (2nd) Phillip Soalheira (3rd)
2017 I	Matthew White (1st) Sunga Lee (2nd) William Foster (3rd)
2018 I	Lauren Albury (1st) Ryan Humphries (2nd) Thomas Andersen (3rd)
2019	Cameron James (1st) Laura Jones (2nd) Nicola Robinson (3rd)
2020 I	Rachel Kelly (1st), Sophie Kukulies (2nd) Blake Humphrey (3rd)
2021 I	Phoebe Wood (1st), Sophie Kukulies (2nd) Harrison Steele-Holmes (3rd)

