

APPLICATION MATILDA JANE APLIN PRIZE 2024

STUDENT NAME:		NO:
Contact Phone Number:		
E-MAIL:		
Course & Year In Which You	Are Enrolled:	
Prize Name:	Matilda Jane Aplin Prize 2024	
Responsible Department:	Strings	
Approx. Prize Value:	\$700	
COMPETITION:	MONDAY 12 AUGUST 2024 - 6.30pm	lan Hanger Recital Hall
ENTRIES CLOSE	4.00pm on Friday 2 August 2024	

- Hand completed application form to the Operations Administrator (rm 2.64) or by e-mail on c.wharton@griffith.edu.au
- Late applications will not be accepted.

DETAILS OF PROGRAMME

To enable the production of an accurate programme, please PRINT or TYPE your selection clearly.

COMPOSER	TITLE/Opus No.	DURATION

If you are only available at a certain time in the competition period, please note that period here.....

SIGNATURE:

Date:_____



MATILDA JANE APLIN PRIZE 2024

1.0 NAME OF COMPETITION

1.1 Matilda Jane Aplin Prize

2.0 DONOR OF PRIZE

2.1 The late Matilda Jane Aplin

3.0 NATURE OF PRIZE

3.1 2024 approximately \$700

4.0 DURATION OF PRIZE

4.1 The prize is to be offered on an annual basis.

5.0 ELIGIBILITY FOR PRIZE

5.1 The prize is open to Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University classical violin students enrolled in the first or second year of an undergraduate programme or alternatively a final year Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University classical violin student who will be doing a postgraduate programme at the Queensland Conservatorium with classical violin as their Performance Study the following year.

6.0 SELECTION PROCESS

- 6.1 Competitors are required to play two contrasting works of their own choice, lasting not longer than 10 minutes in duration.
- 6.2 Previous winners of the prize are not eligible to enter
- 6.3 Judges are to be appointed by the Director (or their nominee)
- 6.4 No judge may be the teacher of a competitor in this competition.

7.0 ADMINISTRATION OF THE PRIZE

7.1 The Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University will be responsible for the administration of the prize, including the publicising of the prize and managing funds associated with the prize.

Previous recipients of this award

1972	Jane Stevenson	2000	Laura Thomson
1977	Julie-Anne Chelmers	2001	Megan Waters
1978	Harold Wilson	2002	Jessica Bell
1979	Stephanie Blake; Roland Adeney; Harold Wilson	2003	Emily Dellit
1980	John Rodgers; Rosalin Lazaroff	2004	Jenny Khafagi
1981	Warwick Adeney; Margueritz Sopinski; Rosalin Lazaroff	2005	Frencesca Hiew
1982	Warwick Adeney	2006	Camille Barry
1983	Janet Kenelley; Miriam Townsley; Mary White	2007	Lachlan O'Donnell
1984	Elizabeth Lockwood; Janet Kenelley; Natalie Turk; Maria Flemming	2008	Glenn Christensen
1985	Monica Curro; Elizabeth Lockwood	2009	Yena Choi
1986	Graeme Jennings; Paul McMillan	2010	Zoe Freisberg
1987	Graeme Jennings	2011	Brett Yang
1988	Elizabeth Jones	2012	Kyla Matsuura-Miller, (Jenna) Cho-Lim Park
1989	Roger Young; Susannah Lazaroff	2013	Annabelle Swainston
1990	Roger Young	2014	Annie Silva & Eliza Scott
1991	Kirsten Waters; Sussanah Webb	2015	Kate Worley & Alys Rayner
1992	Joo-Mee Lee; Sarah Curro	2016	Rebekah Hall & Clare Cooney
1993	Edita Furman	2017	Sarah Hooton
1994	Gregory Lee	2018	Sola Hughes
1995	Yu-Feng Huang	2019	Joint: Harry Egerton, Fiona Qiu
1996	Yu-Feng Huang	2020	Joint: Robert Smith & Liam Freisberg
1997	Teresa Brix	2021	Joint: Miriam Niessl & Theonie Wang
1998	Bacco Liu	2022	Hanuelle Lovell
1999	Te-Chiang Liu	2023	Sophia Di Lucchio