

## **APPLICATION**

## THE JOHN CURRO VIOLA PRIZE 2024

Student Name	:	No		
Contact Phone Number	:			
Contact E-mail	:			
Course and Year in which you are enrolled:				

APPROXIMATE PRIZE VALUE: approx. \$500.00

DATE OF COMPETITION: MONDAY 19 AUGUST 2024 at 6.30pm Ian Hanger Recital Hall

ENTRIES CLOSE: 4.00pm on Friday 9 August 2024

- Hand completed application form to the Operations Administrator (rm 2.64) or by e-mail on c.wharton@griffith.edu.au
- Late applications will not be accepted.

## **DETAILS OF PROGRAMME**

To enable the production of an accurate programme, please **PRINT or TYPE** your selection clearly.

COMPOSER	TITLE	duration
	Total	time:
If you are only available at	a certain time in the competition period, please note that period here	
Signature:	Date:	



#### **THE JOHN CURRO VIOLA PRIZE 2024**

# 1.0 NAME OF COMPETITION

1.1 The John Curro Viola Prize

#### 2.0 DONOR OF PRIZE

2.1 John Curro

#### 3.0 NATURE OF PRIZE

3.1 2024 - approximately \$500

#### 4.0 DURATION OF PRIZE

4.1 The Prize is to be offered on an annual basis.

#### 5.0 ELIGIBILITY FOR PRIZE

- 5.1 Any currently enrolled full time Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University viola student.
- 5.2 Previous winners are not eligible to enter the competition

## 6.0 SELECTION PROCESS

6.1 Applicants are to perform a significant work (one only) in its entirety. The work is **not** to be a concerto.

#### 7.0 ADMINISTRATION OF THE PRIZE

7.1 The Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University will be responsible for administration of this Prize

## Previous recipients of this award

Year	Name	2010	Suying Aw & Gregory Daniel
1997	Cherie Jackson	2011	Martin Alexander
1998	Damien Low	2012	Vivian Wheatley & Ellie Harrison
1999	Lauren Brigden	2013	Eli Vincent
2000	Not awarded	2014	Henry Justo
2001	Min-Hsin Lu, Fiona Bowley	2015	Competition not run
2002	Cai Zhiyuan	2016	May Bardsley
2003	Fiona Bowley	2017	Kate Worley
2004	Laura Diaz Abellan	2018	Alexandra Free
2005	Rebecca Sullivan	2019	Not run
2006	Charlotte de Vere	2020	Not run
2007	Not awarded	2021	Julian Duthoit
2008	Hana Hobiger	2022	Angelina Kim
2009		2023	Felix Hughes Chivers